St Margaret’s Church is a Grade I listed building, adjacent to Babington House in Babington, Somerset, England.


The Church is owned and operated by the St Margaret’s Babington Charitable Trust which, while being independent of Babington House and The Soho House Group, works in close partnership with both Management Teams to preserve this important Church for the local Community, Members and Friends.

There may have been a Norman building on the site before the current Church, which is thought to date from 1748 and was probably designed by John Strahan as it is considered to be very similar in conception to Redland Chapel in Bristol, also by John Strahan. Its construction was completed by William Halfpenny.

The building was commissioned by the Knatchbull family who were living at Babington House at the time as a Parish Church in the Anglican Diocese of Bath and Wells.

The building includes an Apsidal sanctuary and a small west tower with an octagonal cupola. The interior includes an unusual Royal Arms of the Hanoverians on the Rood.

Within the Churchyard there are a set of three Grade II Listed chest tombs. The monument to John Shute is dated 1688 and that to Thomas Branch 1779.

Charitable Trust History

St Margaret’s Babington Charitable Trust was formed in 1994 with the purpose to maintain the fabric of St Margaret’s Church, the adjacent Churchyard and land. It took on a 999 year lease for the Church from the Church of England Diocese of Bath and Wells.

Whilst the Church and Trust are independent of Babington House and The Soho House Group, they work together to ensure the beauty and safe utilisation of this Grade 1 listed building is maintained.

Both Trust and Club work tirelessly to raise all the necessary Funds for the Church’s upkeep, and are always most grateful for any donations.

The Church may be used for Christian services and for appropriate cultural events with the permission of the Trustees.

The current Trustees are:

  • Nigel Crutchley - Chairman
  • Sally Freeman
  • Suzanne Crutchley
  • Revd Clarissa Cridland
  • Andrew Eyles
  • Piers Jennings
  • Paul Knatchbull